Salsa and Avocado Deviled Eggs

I’m a huge egg fan to start, but when I was pregnant with my butterbean I couldn’t get enough.  Specifically the deviled kind.  Something about that creamy, tangy filling hit my ravenous hard-boiled-egg-spot every time.

Because I did try to nourish myself with some healthy choices during my nine-month long egg-a-thon, I incorporated lots of different variations into my diet.  This version is among my favorites and although lighter than the classic mayo mixture, it is still packed with tons of flavor. 

Spicy salsa, creamy avocado and complete with fresh cilantro.  Ahhh, I can’t think of a better combination!

Salsa and Avocado Deviled Eggs

(You can add a diced jalapeño if you like a little heat)

  • 12 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1/2 cup prepared salsa
  • 1/4 cup (light) sour cream
  • 2 green onion, green part sliced
  • Squeeze of fresh lime
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 2-3 tbs cilantro
  • 1 avocado, diced

Slice eggs in half lengthwise and scoop out yolks into medium bowl.  Add salsa, sour cream, squeeze of lime juice, green onion, freshly cracked pepper and a generous pinch of salt.  Combine well until the mixture becomes smooth and the egg yolks are creamy.

Spoon out the salsa mixture into the egg whites and top with avocado and cilantro.  Chill, serve, enjoy!

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Appetizers and the likes, Great for a barbeque, Happy hour, Healthy Options, Holidays - 4th of July, Recipes, Side Dishes

3 responses to “Salsa and Avocado Deviled Eggs

  1. Many thanks for taking free time to compose
    “Salsa and Avocado Deviled Eggs | Daily Crave”. Thank you once again -Wilfredo

Leave a Reply

