Blueberry Goat Cheese Pie

Time has truly slipped away from me these last few weeks and I realize that I have been withholding some seriously swoon-worthy summer delights from you all.

This is partly due to my vacation in Maine that took up the beginning of July where I literally spent my days lounging on the lake and my nights chasing down any kind of lobster dish I could get my hands on.

I did however manage to get myself off my inflatable and into the kitchen once while we were there, and being in the blueberry capital of the world, a creamy, summery blueberry goat cheese pie was my only choice (a pretty good choice, may I add!).

Blueberry Goat Cheese Pie with Toasted Almond Topping

(Recipe by Moira Sommers)

Crust:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2  cup cold butter

1 tbs sugar

pinch salt

cold water

Filling:

1/2 cup soft goat cheese

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 large egg

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Pinch salt

1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh basil

5 cups fresh blueberries

Topping:

1 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup melted butter

For the crust:

Combine the flour, margarine, sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Work with your fingers

gathering and crumbling until you have a crumbly mixture, about the size of peas.

In small amounts, slowly add cold water, gently incorporating by hand. As soon as the dough comes together in a ball, wrap in plastic wrap and chill for 30 minutes.

For the filling: Mix the goat cheese, heavy cream, egg, sugar, flour, salt and basil together in a bowl. Add the blueberries and mix to desired texture.

For the topping: Mix the almonds, sugar and margarine in bowl, set aside.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Roll out the dough and place in a 10-inch pie pan. Pour the filling into the crust and sprinkle the topping over the top. Bake 25 minutes, rotating at the pie halfway through.

3 Comments

Filed under Maine, Seasonal - Summer, Sweet Treats

3 responses to “Blueberry Goat Cheese Pie

  1. Have you ever made this with frozen berries?

  2. Well, living in Maine as I do and a pie baker myself….I’m intrigued with this idea. I made a beer/rye flour crust pie the other day so now that I’m on an unusual roll, Sommers pie idea is next. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

