Fran’s Pimento Cheese BLT

This year so far has been quite the whirlwind for me, as you’ve probably noticed by the sparse postings.  But, I’m going to try to redeem myself with this next little number.  This is the kind of thing that will make you stop in your tracks and forget about any other sandwich you’ve ever eaten — especially for a four-month along pregnant woman!

This sandwich came from my dear friend Francesca who I met during my days of living in Charleston.  We hit it off immediately after we discovered our common love for food.  She loves to cook; I love to eat.  She is from the South; I love fried chicken and biscuits.  She provides me with delicious recipes; I immediately drop everything I’m doing – can’t stop -won’t stop – got-to-have-this-sandwich, stat!   We’re a match made in heaven.

So here it is folks.  I guarantee you it’s knock-your-socks-off delicious:

Lightly toasted sourdough with a heaping spoonful of homemade pimento cheese, smokey crisp bacon, fresh arugula and thick sliced tomatoes.  Three words: Oh. my. goooosh!

Fran’s Pimento Cheese

  • Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese, 8 oz block
  • 2 slices American Cheese
  • 1 small jar diced Pimentos
  • 2 tbsp Duke’s mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • ground red pepper, to taste
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Roughly cut the cheddar cheese into small cubes and place in food processor with American cheese.  Pulse until crumbled.

Add mayo and sour cream, seasoning and half the jar of pimentos (with a couple of splashes of the juice).

Pulse until combined (ensuring not to overdo it – you do not want a pasty consistency).

Remove from chopper and pour into a storage container-stir in the rest of the pimentos (juice if it is too thick).  Check seasoning.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to merge flavors and thicken.

Fran’s Pimento Cheese BLT

  • two slices thick sourdough, slightly toasted
  • heaping spoonful pimento cheese
  • Applewood smoked bacon
  • 2-3 tomato slices
  • Arugula

Assemble sandwich by spreading pimento cheese on the bottom slice, add arugula, tomatoes and bacon.

5 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Appetizers and the likes, Charleston, Recipes, Sandwich Craft

5 responses to “Fran’s Pimento Cheese BLT

  1. Connie Baker

    I learned to love pimento cheese sandwiches when Eddie was in dental school in Memphis. Andrew has become quite a fan as well. You can’t find the stuff around here so I can’t wait to try this!

  2. Pingback: Pimento Cheese Stuffed and Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers | Daily Crave

Leave a Reply

