Farmer’s Market Succotash

When I eat fresh lima beans, I taste the sweet flavors of self-liberation.  Every picked-from-the-pod bean frees my inner child from the traumatic frozen-fed upbringing that’s held me captive in a lima bean prison since I was a tot.  While I appreciate my mother’s efforts to provide nutritious meals, I feel I’ve been deceived.  I mean, why would she teach me that these delicious vegetables grow from a cardboard box?  Now that I’ve discovered the truth, its invigorating to know I never have to lay eyes on an iced up piece of mush again. In the famous words of Anthony Bourdain –  I’d rather lick Cheeto dust off the floor of a public bus.

This recipe is wonderful!  Succotash offers so much versatility and flexibility, so you can really mix and match an array of flavors, using whatever ingredients strike your mood. 

Fresh from the Market Succotash

  • 1/2 lb lima beans, out of pods
  • 1 medium zucchini, diced
  • 1/2 onion (or one small onion), diced
  • 4 ears of corn, kernels cut off
  • about 6 small fingerling potatoes
  • about 12-15 fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, sliced fine
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400 F and slice potatoes into 1/4 inch discs.  Place potatoes on baking sheet with salt and an olive oil drizzle and bake for about 12-15 minutes or until potatoes are cooked through.

While potatoes are cooking, blanch lima beans in boiling water for about 5-7 minutes or until beans are soft.  Drain beans and transfer immediately to a cold water bath. 

In sauté pan with olive oil add onions and cook for about 3-4 minutes on med-low or until translucent.   Add garlic, corn, zucchini and cook for another 3-4 minutes.  Once potatoes are ready add to sauté pan with the other veggies and add lima beans and basil.  Combine in pan, season with salt and pepper and serve.

5 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Healthy Options, Recipes, Seasonal - Summer, Side Dishes, Southern Specialties, Vegetables

5 responses to “Farmer’s Market Succotash

  1. Bev

    I don’t like Lima beans but this recipe sounds so good I’m going to try it…
    Thanks Natalie.

    Bev

  2. This looks so good I could eat the photograph. 🙂

  3. What a lovely fresh looking salad. I can see many a lunch time with this on the menu!
    🙂 Mandy

  4. Pingback: Chunky Ginger Applesauce « Daily Crave

Leave a Reply

