Easy Pea Salad

In the past, if I would have ever seen the words “peas” and “delicious” used together in a sentence, I would have immediately brushed off any credibility – regardless of the topic.  I sound like such a pompous pea-hater, I know. It’s not that I completely hate them, it’s  just that I’ve never had the desire to put an abundance of them in my mouth at one time.  I can’t explain it.  It’s just one of those things.  But my gosh – if only I would have known all it takes is turning them into a snazzy salad with smokey bacon and parmesan cheese, I would have been a die-hard pea fan long ago. 

This is one of the few times you’ll see me using a frozen ingredient, but peas are an exception if you cannot find fresh (or in this case was a little too lazy when I had a craving for my snazzy pea salad – like now!).

  • 4 cups frozen peas, thawed 
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan
  • 8 strips of applewood smoked bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 2 shallots, minced fine
  • 2 1/2 tbsp sour cream
  • 2 tbsp mayo
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in medium bowl and serve.

6 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Recipes, Side Dishes, Vegetables

6 responses to “Easy Pea Salad

  1. What a lovely easy and tasty recipe. The addition of pasta rice might also be a nice idea.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Not a bad ingredient in the bunch. I give it an A+

  3. Michelle

    Just made this! Delicious!

  4. Fritzi Schnitzer

    Try adding a can of sliced water chestnuts.

  5. We can use it inside of our sandwiches… Best for them… Thanks…

Leave a Reply

