The Battle of the Pig

Lately in my life there has been a mad influx of vegetarians. Every corner I turn another friend is rapidly spiraling down into a world of meat deprivation and bacon dissing.  Usually, I would take this type of phenomenon as a clue from God that I am doing something wrong in life; that I need to reevaluate my current situation with some yogi-like soul-searching.  But as a lover of all-things pig, an advocate for the finer sausages in life, and the holder of a dream to one day care for my very own chicken coop – I had to look a little deeper to find out what the universe was really trying to tell me.  And that’s when I wrote this:

 Love Letter #1 

To My Non Meat-Eating Dearest,

Because of you, I am a better person. You continue to remind me that it takes all different varieties to make this world go round, and without you we would be living in a communal society of robotic carnivores. When I’m feeling down I know I can count on you to lift my spirits as I hear you being referred to as veghead, bunny hugger, or broccoliholic- this always has the ability to make me chuckle. But above all you exude an admirable passion that rules your heart and mind. A passion that motivates you to take a firm stance for what you believe in – even if your belief is purely based on thinking pigs are cute. Without you, I would not be the person that I am today…and I thank you for that.  

Forever and always,

Natalie

P.S. Shout-out to all of my veghead friends – you know I love you 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under All Posts, Love Letters, Personal, Uncategorized

One response to “The Battle of the Pig

  1. Judy

    Nat, Love this latest blog regarding “pigs”. Where did you get your great writing skills? Maybe some of the art talent that runs in your family came out in the form of writing.
    Also want you to know I LOVE the bleu cheese slaw. It’s delicious!!! I gave some to my neighbor too. (Had to make a non bleu cheese version for Frank. He’s not a bleu lover.)

Leave a Reply

